Skip to main content
NIJC has a new Chicago address at 111 W. Jackson Blvd, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60604 and a new email domain at

NIJC's Human Rights Awards honors human rights champions and celebrates the contributions of business, philanthropic, and community leaders. In 2024, we'll be celebrating 25 years of impact at our special Silver Anniversary event! The Human Rights Awards is NIJC's signature event, drawing 1,000 attendees and funding programs that protect immigrant rights and provide access to life-changing immigration legal services for more than 10,000 people each year.

25th Annual National Immigrant Justice Center Human Rights Awards. A collage of pictures of smiling people and families are nestled inside a big number "25" with a light blue overlay. Underneath is a marigold yellow circle with "Save the Date" inside, and text next to it reads, "Tuesday June 4, 2024, Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 12:00 - 1:30 p.m. CT  Keynote & Jeanne M. and Joseph P. Sullivan Award: EDWIDGE DANTICAT, award-winning author"

25th Annual NIJC Human Rights Awards
Tuesday, June 4, 2024
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
12:00 - 1:30 p.m. CT

Keynote & Jeanne M. and Joseph P. Sullivan Award: EDWIDGE DANTICAT
Headshot of Edwidge Danticat, Haitian-American novelist and short story writer Edwidge Danticat is the author of several books, including Breath, Eyes, Memory, an Oprah Book Club selection, Krik? Krak!, a National Book Award finalist, The Farming of Bones, an American Book Award winner; the novels-in-stories, The Dew Breaker, Claire of the Sea Light, and The Art of Death, a National Book Critics Circle finalist for Criticism. She has written seven books for children and young adults, a travel narrative, After the Dance, and a collection of essays, Create Dangerously. Her memoir, Brother, I'm Dying, was a 2007 finalist for the National Book Award and a 2008 winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for autobiography. She is the editor of The Butterfly's Way: Voices from the Haitian Dyaspora in the United States, The Beacon Best of 2000, Haiti Noir, Haiti Noir 2, and Best American Essays 2011. She is a 2009 MacArthur Fellow, a 2018 Ford Foundation Art of Change Fellow, a 2018 winner of the Neustadt Prize, a 2019 winner of the Saint Louis Literary Award, a 2020 United States Artist Fellow, a 2020 winner of the Vilceck Prize, and a 2023 winner of the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story. Her story collection, Everything Inside, was a 2020 winner of the Bocas Fiction Prize, The Story Prize, and the National Book Critics Circle Fiction Prize. She is a Member of the New York Writer’s Hall of Fame and The American Academy of Arts and Letters. She is currently teaching at Columbia University.

Stay tuned for more details about the 25th Annual Human Rights Awards including additional awardees. Online ticket sales coming soon! If you'd like to purchase advance tickets, contact Lina Habib by email. In the meantime, see more about this past year's event, the 24th Annual Human Rights Awards.

View looking down from a balcony on an elegant and ornate ballroom filled with people sitting at round tables.
View from the balcony of the 24th Annual Human Rights Awards


Javier Zamora, a poet and author, looks pensive as he delivers the keynote address from a podium with a sign on it with the "National Immigrant Justice Center" logo
Poet and author Javier Zamora delivers the keynote at the event in 2023


2024 SPONSORS (as of 4/3/24)



Diamond Sponsors

Dentons logo

Jenner & Block logo

Katten logo


Platinum Sponsors

Aon plc
Baker McKenzie LLP
Faegre Drinker
KMA Zuckert
Latham & Watkins LLP
Mayer Brown LLP
McDermott Will & Emery
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
Reed Smith
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
United Airlines
Winston & Strawn

Emerald Sponsors

JP Morgan Chase & Co.
Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Locke Lord LLP
Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Gold Sponsors

Arnold & Porter
Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP
Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Chapman and Cutler LLP
DLA Piper LLP (US)
Foley & Lardner LLP
Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP
Grant Thornton
Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP
Jones Day
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Perkins Coie LLP
Quinn Emanuel
Ropes & Gray, LLP

Silver Sponsors

Akerman LLP
Alvarez & Marsal
ArentFox Schiff LLP
Benesch Law
CME Group
Crowell & Moring LLP
CTS Impact
Dykema Gossett PLLC
Elizabeth Higashi
Fidelity Investments
Goldberg Kohn
GoodSmith Gregg & Unruh LLP
Hughes Socol Piers Resnick & Dym, Ltd.
Jaszczuk P.C.
King & Spalding
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
McDonald’s Corp.
Minsky, McCormick & Hallagan
Options Clearing Corporation (OCC)
Pritzker Traubert Foundation
Schaner Dispute Resolution LLC
Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Smith, Gambrell & Russell
Taft Law
Weinberg/Newton Family Foundation

Friend Sponsors

Holland & Knight LLP
Illinois Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (IHCC)
Law Office of Jennifer K. Fardy
McGuireWoods LLP
Mony Ruiz-Velasco & Denise Poloyac
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Park Evaluations
Rapp Law Group LLC
Redgrave LLP

If you are interested in sponsoring the 25th Annual NIJC Human Rights Awards, visit our sponsorship page for more information.