Skip to main content

We are excited to announce the 19th Annual National Immigrant Justice Center Human Rights Awards will be on Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile with a keynote address by Dolores Huerta. Stay tuned for ticket information!

2018 Keynote speaker & Jeanne and Joseph Sullivan Award recipient:

Dolores Huerta is an American labor leader and civil rights activist who co-founded the National Farmworkers Association with César Chávez in 1962, making famous the popular rallying cry, “¡Sí, Se Puede!” Huerta has received numerous awards and accolades over the past five decades, recognizing her for her advocacy on behalf of workers’, immigrants’, and women’s rights, including the Eleanor Roosevelt Award for Human Rights and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award in the United States. In 2017, a biographical film titled Dolores was released, highlighting her lifelong commitment to social justice. Today at 87, Huerta continues her lifelong work protecting human rights, developing grassroots leaders, and advocating for the working poor, immigrants, women, and children. She is president of the Dolores Huerta Foundation.


For a recap of the 2017 NIJC Human Rights Awards and photos, keep on scrolling down!

Thank you to all those who supported the National Immigrant Justice Center’s 18th Annual Human Rights Awards on June 6, 2017! More than 1,000 people attended this year's event, raising a collective $1 million dollars to provide life-changing legal services to immigrants in our communities. Below are photos, videos of awardees' speeches, and comments from guests that were shared on social media during the event.


Rising Star Attorneys:

Jocelin Chang
Latham & Watkins LLP

Stephanie Coirin
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Shawn Gebhardt
Winston & Strawn LLP

Alan Iverson
Jenner & Block LLP

Erica Jaffe
Jones Day
Jeff Koh
Ropes & Gray LLP

Lisa Kpor
Holland & Knight LLP

Nina Ruvinsky
Mayer Brown LLP

Scott Sherwin
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Meredith Turner-Woolley
Hughes Socol Piers Resnick & Dym, Ltd.


2017 Sponsors:


Baker & McKenzie LLP
Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Sidley Austin LLP


Jenner & Block LLP
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Reed Smith LLP
Winston & Strawn LLP


AT&T Inc.
Dentons US LLP
Foley & Lardner LLP
Mayer Brown LLP
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher &  Flom LLP


JP Morgan Chase & Co.
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
The Kapnick Foundation
United Airlines

Gold Sponsors

Allstate Corp.
Aon Corporation
Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd LLP
CME Group
Exelon Corporation
Faegre Baker Daniels LLP
Grant Thornton LLC
Jones Day
Latham & Watkins LLP
Locke Lord LLP
McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Silver Sponsors

AlixPartners LLC
BMO Harris
Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP
Chapman & Cutler LLP
Cozen O'Connor
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Duff & Phelps
FTI Consulting
Goldberg Kohn
Greenberg Traurig LLP and Caesars Entertainment
Holland & Knight LLP
Jerry Newton
John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Littler Mendelson P.C.

Lori E. Lightfoot and Amy Eshleman
Navigant Consulting, Inc.
Pugh, Jones and Johnson, P.C.
RSM US LLP (formerly McGladrey LLP)
Ropes & Gray LLP
Schiff Hardin LLP
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
The Segal Family Foundation
Walgreen Co.
Willis Towers Watson

Bronze Sponsors

Booz Allen Hamilton
Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE)
Crowell & Moring, LLP
EimerStahl LLP
Franczek Radelet P.C.
Jeanne M. Sullivan
Kroll Associates, Inc.
Lee Ann Russo
Mesirow Financial
Paul Hastings LLP
Polsinelli PC
Quarles & Brady LLP
Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila
Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Steve Navarre
Stout Risius Ross, Inc.
Susan Fortino-Brown
Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
Transperfect Legal Solutions
Zulkie Partners