Skip to main content
NIJC has a new Chicago address at 111 W. Jackson Blvd, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60604 and a new email domain at

The NIJC Human Rights Awards honors human rights champions and celebrates the contributions of business, philanthropic, and community leaders. This luncheon is NIJC's signature event, drawing 1,000 attendees to raise funds for programs that protect immigrant rights and provide access to life-changing immigration legal services for more than 10,000 people each year. The 25th Annual NIJC Human Rights Awards took place on June 4, 2024, at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile.


Keynote & Jeanne M. and Joseph P. Sullivan Award: Edwidge Danticat

HRA 2024 Edwidge Danticat keynote presentation
Author Edwidge Danticat presented the keynote speech before accepting the Jeanne M. and Joseph P. Sullivan Human Rights Award.


Community Change Award: Latino Policy Forum

HRA 2024 Latino Policy Forum award presentation
The Community Change Award was accepted by Sylvia Puente on behalf of the Latino Policy Forum.


Human Rights Practitioner Award: Brian Casey, Barnes & Thornburg LLP

HRA 2024 Brian Casey award presentation
Pro bono attorney Brian Casey accepted the Human Rights Practitioner Award.


Human Rights Corporate Award: Accenture

HRA 2024 Accenture Maria Maras award presentation
Pro bono attorney Maria Maras accepted the Human Rights Corporate Award on behalf of Accenture.


2024 Rising Star Recipients

HRA 2024 Rising Stars Awards Presentation

Mary Kennedy, Seyfarth Shaw LLP 
Jackie McDonnell, Faegre Drinker  
Elizabeth Olivera, Cozen O’Connor
Leigh Brissenden, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Matthew Hartzler, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Rachel Cheng, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Marques Winick, Goldberg Kohn
Laila Khan, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Tommy Hoyt, Sidley Austin LLP
Joseph Glynn, Munger Tolles & Olson LLP


Finding Community And Living With Purpose

Watch our 2024 Human Rights Awards video featuring Camilo, Abdinasir & Habon's Stories


View the 25th Annual NIJC Human Rights Awards program booklet


2024 Sponsors



Diamond Sponsors

Dentons logo

Jenner & Block logo

Katten logo


Platinum Sponsors

Aon plc
Baker McKenzie LLP
Faegre Drinker
KMA Zuckert
Latham & Watkins LLP
Mayer Brown LLP
McDermott Will & Emery
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
Reed Smith
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
United Airlines
Winston & Strawn

Emerald Sponsors

Cozen O'Connor
JP Morgan Chase & Co.
Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Locke Lord LLP
Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Gold Sponsors

Arnold & Porter
Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP
Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Chapman and Cutler LLP
DLA Piper LLP (US)
Foley & Lardner LLP
Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP
GCM Grosvenor
Grant Thornton
Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP
Jones Day
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Paul Hastings
Perkins Coie LLP
Porter Wright
Quinn Emanuel
Ropes & Gray, LLP
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr

Silver Sponsors

Akerman LLP
Alvarez & Marsal
ArentFox Schiff LLP
Benesch Law
CME Group
Crowell & Moring LLP
CTS Impact
Dykema Gossett PLLC
Elizabeth Higashi
Eimer Stahl
Fidelity Investments
Goldberg Kohn
GoodSmith Gregg & Unruh LLP
Gretchen Wolf
Hughes Socol Piers Resnick & Dym, Ltd.
Impact Networking
Jaszczuk P.C.
John A. Simon
King & Spalding
Law Office of Susan Fortino-Brown
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
McDonald’s Corp.
Minsky, McCormick & Hallagan
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Options Clearing Corporation (OCC)
Pritzker Traubert Foundation
Proskauer Rose
Schaner Dispute Resolution LLC
Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Smith, Gambrell & Russell
Taft Law
Vedder Price
Weinberg/Newton Family Foundation
Zurich North America

Friend Sponsors

Ahlgren Law
Cornerstone Research
Holland & Knight LLP
Illinois Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (IHCC)
Law Office of Jennifer K. Fardy
Mary Clare Loftus
McGuireWoods LLP
Mony Ruiz-Velasco & Denise Poloyac
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Park Evaluations
Rapp Law Group LLC
Redgrave LLP
Sterling Bay